Grandview Trek

Flagstaff, AZ
5.0 (79 reviews)

Trip Highlights

  • Canyon Solitude
  • Possible Day Hike to the River
  • Spectacular Grandview Trail
  • Desert Springs & Oases
  • Mining History & Ruins
  • Guides Choice Trip

Description

The Grandview Trek is a backpacking trip into a remote and quiet part of the Grand Canyon. It offers incredible views, fantastic natural and cultural history (including a 19th-century mine and miner’s cabin), great camping with plenty of solitude, and the opportunity (not guaranteed) to reach the Colorado River via a historic trail that is rarely used today.

The trip lives up to its name the moment we start hiking as stunning panoramas of the Grand Canyon and the Colorado River explode in front of us. The scenery continues to inspire as we descend to Horseshoe Mesa, which extends into the Canyon like the deck of a battleship with expansive views in every direction.

We’ll hike off the west side of the Mesa to Cottonwood Creek. From here you can expect exciting hiking, camping at remote desert oases, incredible views of the Inner Gorge and Colorado River, and the possibility of reaching the Colorado River. Our route circles around Horseshoe Mesa, re-ascends it, and takes us back to the South Rim, where we’ll complete one of the best loop hikes in the Canyon!

Important: It is strongly recommended to book your Grand Canyon backpacking trip 5 months in advance due to the Park’s permit system. Backpacking permits are issued on the first of the month 4+ months in advance (see deadlines for each month.) Permits for the most popular trips sell out very quickly during the initial lottery, so registering prior to the deadline of the month you’re interested in is highly beneficial. You can also pick any dates!

Read more …
4 Days From USD
$1565 Per Person
5 Days From USD
$1830 Per Person
Permit Deadlines  

Permit Deadlines

Grand Canyon’s permit process is complicated, but we take care of everything so you don’t have to worry about it! Here’s what you do need to know – Grand Canyon issues backpacking permits through a lottery system 4+ months in advance (deadlines listed below). Permits for popular trips sell out immediately during the initial lottery, so it’s important to register before the process begins.

When you register we will ask you for backup dates and itineraries, as they are helpful if your first choice isn’t available. If a permit request is denied, pre-permit registrants have top priority for open spaces on confirmed permits, and very often get spots. Finally, we have good success rates, but your deposit is 100% refundable or transferable if we’re unsuccessful. Still have questions? Call us at 800-715-HIKE (4453)!

PERMIT DEADLINES
Month of Trip
Register Before
Permit Results
January
Sept 1
~Sept 15
February
Oct 1
~Oct 15
March
Nov 1
~Nov 15
April
Dec 1
~Dec 15
May
Jan 1
~Jan 15
June
Feb 1
~Feb 15
July
Mar 1
~Mar 15
August
Apr 1
~Apr 15
September
May 1
~May 15
October
June 1
~June 15
November
July 1
~July 15
December
Aug 1
~Aug 15
Trip Type: Guided Backpacking Trip
Difficulty Level:
Solitude Level:
Group Size: 1-9 Guests
Trip Length: 4-5 Days
Distance: 27MI / 43KM

DIFFICULTY LEVEL 4

Scale of 1-5. 1 is least difficult; 5 is most difficult

SUMMARY OF DIFFICULTY
This trip follows a mix of well maintained and more rugged sections of trail. Be prepared for periods of steep hiking, with moderate to significant exposure, and at times loose sufaces that requires attention and careful footing.

Hiking Distances:

Up to 13 mi

Backpack Weight:

35-45 lbs

Terrain:

Significantly Rugged

Max Daily Elev. ↑↓:

3500 ft

Heights Exposure:

Significant

Please Note: Terrain, Elevation Gain and Heights Exposure ratings reflect the section or day of the trip with the maximum difficulty of each. Much of the trip is at easier levels. See the trip itinerary for more detailed information. Backpack Weight ratings are estimates that account for Wildland-provided gear, guest clothing, personal items and a share of group food. By packing light it’s often possible to stay on the lower end of the weight range. Pack weights also decrease during the trip.

PHYSICAL DEMANDS OF THIS TRIP

  • Hiking uphill or downhill with a 35-45 lb backpack for 6-8 hours
  • Day hiking uphill or downhill with a 8-12 lb backpack for up to 10 hours
  • Maintaining balance and footing on rugged, steep or loose terrain
  • Hiking in 105+ degree farenheit ambient temps may be required in the warmer months (May-Sept). Learn more about desert heat.
  • Hiking with significant heights exposure in places
* For an official and complete list of physical requirements, please see our Essential Eligibility Criteria.

SOLITUDE LEVEL 4

1 least solitude, 5 most solitude

We rate this Grand Canyon hike a solitude 4 because it follows primarily remote, unmaintained trails. The first 1-2 miles of the Grandview Trail attract a moderate number of hikers, but after that it tapers off quickly. Inside the Canyon, you can expect to see no more than 1 or 2 hiker groups per day.

Private Trips

Travel in perfect company by booking a private trip exclusively for your group!

Our sliding scale for private trips is based on the final number of guests in your group. Rates are per person and do not include sales tax, national park fees or guide gratuity. The final rate is based on the actual number of guests on the trip and may adjust based on cancellations or additions.

Please Note: you can also enjoy a private trip at our normal scheduled rates by filling any empty tour to capacity. However, if group members drop from the tour those spots will automatically become available on our website for instant booking. By purchasing a private trip at the rates listed below, your trip will remain exclusive to your group regardless of cancellations. 

Private Rates FOr This Trip

  • 2 People: Rate x 2.5
  • 3 People: Rate x 1.75
  • 4 People: Rate x 1.25
  • 5+ People: Rate x 1.15

*all rates are per person

"*" indicates required fields

Receive Emails about Wildland Trekking Promotions, Updates, and Discounts:
We’re here to help. If you have any questions, call 800-715-HIKE or contact us online.
PDF Trip Itinerary Packet Book online
Or fill out a Reservation Request
Learn About Our Private Trips
View Private Trips

"*" indicates required fields

Receive Emails about Wildland Trekking Promotions, Updates, and Discounts:

ITINERARY

ITINERARY

Day 1

  • Shuttle to the South Rim: 1.5-hour drive from Flagstaff
  • Hiking Mileage: 5 miles
  • Elevation Loss: 3,500 feet

We’ll begin this exceptional Grand Canyon backpacking tour by hiking down the Grandview Trail, a historic Native American route rebuilt by Pete Berry for his Last Chance copper mine. Pete Berry and partners staked the Last Chance claim in 1890 and worked the mine on and off until 1916. We’ll hike to Horseshoe Mesa then drop off the west side to Cottonwood Creek, which is a remote camp nestled beneath a small grove of cottonwood trees. Cottonwood Creek is a spring-fed creek that trickles between pools near camp. Your guide will prepare a hearty dinner while you relax and soak up the views!

Day 2

  • Hiking Mileage: 5 miles + day hike
  • Elevation Change: minimal

Today we break camp and head out on a hike across the Tonto Plateau, which is often compared to a kaleidoscope of mesmerizing 360 degree views that shift constantly as we make our way toward our next camp. Plan on having the Grand Canyon essentially all to yourself today, as we’re unlikely to meet more than one or two other hiking groups. This is Canyon Solitude at its finest! We’ll be hiking east from Cottonwood Creek to camp at Hance Creek, which is another remote and quiet camp with a spring-fed stream trickling nearby. After dinner we’ll stay up and enjoy the stars, which are unparalleled in this special, wild place!

Day 3

  • Hiking Mileage: 13 miles
  • Elevation Gain: 1100 feet
  • Elevation Loss: 1100 feet

Today we’ll attempt to hike to the Colorado River and back via the the only established trail. The mileage of this hike is significant (13 miles), but the elevation gain and loss are moderate. We’re also only hiking with light daypacks. We’ll continue to follow the Tonto Trail east, winding in and out of a dramatic side canyon on our way to an impressive set of rapids on the Southwest’s most mighty river, and the very bottom of the Grand Canyon. Upon reaching the Colorado River, we’ll enjoy a much-deserved lunch break on a beautiful beach before retracing our steps back to our camp for the night.

Day 4

  • Hiking Mileage: 5 miles
  • Elevation Gain: 3,500 feet
  • Shuttle to the Flagstaff: 1.5-hour drive to Flagstaff

On the 4-day itinerary we’ll be hiking out today. Please read below for information on the 5-day itinerary, which allow for an extra night on Horseshoe Mesa. If we’re hiking out, we’ll get an early start, enjoy a quick breakfast and begin our hike back to the South Rim. Our route takes us up a rugged trail to Horseshoe Mesa, where we’ll stop in the shade of Junipers, have a trail snack and soak up some more views. Then we’ll continue up the Grandview Trail back to where we started. An hour shuttle ride to Flagstaff gives us time to relax and reflect on the incredible journey we’ve just completed!

Horseshoe Mesa Variation (5 days)

5-Day Variation: The Horseshoe Mesa Addition (adds 2 miles with little elevation change): we can spend one additional night at Horseshoe Mesa (making it a  5-day itinerary) on our way out. After we’ve moved camp to the mesa we’ll head out to the edge of the mesa for birds eye views of our day two hike across the Tonto Plateau. The edge of the mesa here feels like the edge of the world and features some of the most dramatic views the Grand Canyon has to offer.

Important: this trip is operated as either a 4-day or 5-day itinerary, and is confirmed as such in advance. Variation of trip length does not mean guests can choose to leave a trip or early or extend it a day.

 

Please Note: We always do everything in our power to follow the set itinerary, however it can change occasionally based on temporary access restrictions, weather, lodging/campground availability, guest ability/injury, natural events like fires and flooding, and other potential causes. Normal terms and conditions apply to trips with itinerary changes.

Trip Dates & Booking

TRIP DATES & BOOKING

Click on a date to register. You can also click here to request new dates or book through customer service.

Available to Book

AVAILABLE TO BOOK

This trip is available and bookable online! Click on the date to register now or contact us online to book through our award-winning customer service team!

Going Fast

GOING FAST

This trip has 1 or 2 spots remaining and is bookable online! Click on the date to book now or contact us online to book through customer service.

Request a Reservation

REQUEST A RESERVATION

This trip is exclusively booked through customer service due to logistics with lodging, permits, staffing, availability, or something else. Please contact us online or call us at 800-715-HIKE (4453) to request a reservation.

Permitted and Confirmed Trip Dates

These trip dates are permitted and confirmed. Click on a date to book!

Pre-Permit Trip Dates

Permits have not yet been issued for these months. It is best to book before the listed deadlines. You can pick any dates (listed or not). Click on a date or contact us to book. (Permit system details)

February 2025 (Book before October 1, 2024)
March 2025 (Book before November 1, 2024)
April 2025 (Book before December 1, 2024)
May 2025 (Book before January 1, 2025)
September 2025 (Book before May 1, 2025)
October 2025 (Book before June 1, 2025)

Don't see your dates? Call us! We may be able to add new trip dates.

800-715-HIKE (4453)

Trip Details

Trip Details

What's Included

  • Top-of-the-line tent, backcountry sleeping pad and multi-day backpack
  • High quality, synthetic sleeping bag (professionally laundered after every use) – or bring your own.
  • Use of trekking poles and Microspike Crampons if necessary
  • All meals are included from breakfast the first day through lunch on the last day
  • Trained hiking guide(s) with years of personal wilderness and hiking experience, medical certifications, and a passion for leading people into breathtaking landscapes. See Guide Bios.
  • Roundtrip transportation from your hotel in Flagstaff, Arizona to the Grand Canyon and back
  • Grand Canyon National Park entrance fees and wilderness permits (read about Grand Canyon’s permit system)
  • Emergency equipment including a company-issued first-aid kit and communication device (InReach Explorer or satellite phone)
  • Mandatory 5% national park fee that passes through directly to Grand Canyon

What's Not Included

  • Clothes, raingear, and footwear (see recommendations)
  • Sunscreen, toiletries and personal items
  • Water bottles and a headlamp or flashlight
  • Guide gratuity (industry recommendation is 10-20% of trip cost)

Click here to see a printable, downloadable trip information packet with more detailed guidance about what to pack.

Meals: What To Expect

All of our hiking and backpacking tours include a diversity of tasty meals packed full of critical carbohydrates, proteins and fats. We carry foods that travel well in the backcountry – rice, pastas, lentils, beans, couscous, packaged meats, nuts, breads, oatmeal, granola, and more.

For optimal taste and energy, we supplement all our meals with spices, herbs, oils, cheeses, butter, sugar, and fruits and vegetables (fresh and dried). In addition, we provide you with with an assortment of trail mix, snacks, and dried fruits to eat at your own discretion.

We regularly accommodate vegan, vegetarian, kosher and non-gluten diets and will make adjustments for food allergies. These and other special dietary requests may require an additional fee.

Gear We Provide

We provide all group gear which includes the following:

  • Deuter or Osprey backpacks
  • Sierra Designs, Kelty or Big Agnes tents
  • Sierra Designs, Big Agnes and Mountain Hardware synthetic-fill sleeping bags (or bring your own)
  • Thermarest or Big Agnes sleeping pads
  • Leki trekking poles
  • Cooking stoves and cookware
  • Company-issued first-aid kit
  • Emergency communication device(s)

Guest Packing List

When you register for this tour you’ll receive access to a printable, downloadable trip information packet with a detailed packing list specific to this trip (click here to see it now.) All trips require a sturdy pair of hiking shoes or hiking boots, rain gear, a recommended clothing system, a headlamp or flashlight, a hydration system (water bottles and/or bladder) and other items specific to each trip.

Additionally, some guests choose to bring their own sleeping bag. We supply high quality, synthetic fill bags that are professionally laundered after every trip. Synthetic fill is non-allergenic, insulates when damp and stands up well to repeated washings, but is heavier and bulkier than down. If you’re able to bring your own down sleeping bag, there are multiple benefits. If not, we’ve got you covered!

Grand Canyon Conservancy

By traveling on this trip, you’ll directly support our Intrepid Foundation partner, the Grand Canyon Conservancy. Donations help them protect Grand Canyon National Park and support trail restoration, conservation of native plants and wildlife, and educational programs. Learn more about this partnership!

Trip Logistics

Trip Logistics

How do I Register?

Reserve your spot today! In the Trip Dates & Booking section of this page, the green and red dates are bookable online by simply clicking on the date, and blue dates must be booked through our customer service team for a variety of possible reasons. To email our customer service team, you can click here to get the ball rolling. Our adventure consultants will confirm availability, and if you’re ready to register we’ll email you a link to a registration profile. You’ll have 72 hours to complete your profile (and that of any dependents) and pay the deposit.

Feel free to call us for more info – we’re here 7 days a week!

Where Do We Meet?

Unless we tell you otherwise, you will meet your guide and group at the Little America Hotel in Flagstaff (use this reservation page for a 10-60% discount at Little America) for an orientation meeting at 5:00 PM the evening before the trip begins. We’re happy to give you a ride to this meeting if you’re not staying at Little America, but staying at one of our other recommended hotels. Your guide will then pick you up at your hotel the next morning for transport to the trailhead. For Private Grand Canyon Tours your guide will meet you at your hotel in Flagstaff at an agreed upon time.

Click here to see a printable, downloadable trip information packet with more detailed guidance about flights, shuttles, recommended lodging and more.

Travel to Flagstaff

WHY WE BASE IN FLAGSTAFF VS. PHOENIX
  • Reduced drive time by 3 hours on first day of hiking
  • Guide support is only an hour away vs. 4-5 hours away in Phoenix.
  • Increased flexibility with unforeseen circumstances
  • Flagstaff is a scenic mountain town with great hiking and restaurants!
Groome Shuttle

Groome Transportation operates an Arizona Shuttle that makes 9 dependable trips daily each direction between Phoenix and Flagstaff. The duration is 2.5-3 hours. They pickup/drop off at Sky Harbor Airport and the Metro Center in Phoenix, and in Flagstaff at the Amtrak Station (near downtown) and the NAU campus.

Note: Groome also offers daily transportation (3 trips in each direction) from Flagstaff to the South Rim of the Grand Canyon.

CAR RENTAL

Sky Harbor Airport in Phoenix has a fantastic car rental facility that is easily accessible and hosts a great variety of companies. We recommend checking Priceline.com as well for especially good deals.

ARIZONA EXECUTIVE TRANSPORT

Arizona Executive Transport offers private, reliable SUV service between Phoenix and Flagstaff. This option is best if you’re traveling in a group of 3 or 4. As Wildland Trekking guests, your one-way cost for up to 4 passengers is only $275. Simply type “Wildland Trekking Company” in the Discount Code Box at the bottom of the online registration page. You can go to http://www.arizonaexecutivellc.com to make your reservations online.

Pre and Post-Trip On Request Lodging

We secure limited amounts of pre and post trip lodging in Flagstaff, Arizona as an optional add-on for guests of this trip. This lodging is on request, and is available on a first come, first serve basis. If interested, please reach out directly to our team to check availability.

Start/End Times

Your guide will inform you of the first day’s pick-up time at the orientation meeting. Generally, you can expect it to be between 4 and 7 am, although the exact time will depend on current weather and road conditions. We will drop you off at your hotel on the final day normally before 5 PM (this time is not guaranteed, as a variety of circumstances can influence our exact return time).

Safety Precautions

Your safety is our top priority. Our hiking tours are led by professional hiking guides, all of whom are wilderness-certified first responders or EMT’s, each with years of guiding and wilderness experience. Guides adhere to standardized risk management protocols in case of any potential or actual incident, and all tours carry an emergency communication device and comprehensive first-aid kit. Additionally we have a “24/7” system through which guides or guests can reach Wildland support personnel at any time.

If you have any further questions about safety, please contact us at 1-800-715-HIKE (4453) for more information.

Essential Eligibility Criteria

Essential Eligibility Criteria (“EEC”) have been specifically identified to help you understand the skills and abilities necessary to participate on each Wildland trip, and they apply uniformly to all potential trip participants, irrespective of the presence or absence of any disability.

Once you identify a trip in which you may be interested, please carefully review the EEC and itinerary details. If after reviewing the EEC that apply to your desired trip, you determine you need an accommodation in order to meet the EEC, please contact us prior to registering to discuss your requested accommodation.

The EEC exist for your own safety and the safety and enjoyment of all participants. If you are unable to meet the EEC for the trip, with or without an accommodation, you are not eligible for that trip. If you register and arrive for a trip for which you do not meet the EEC, you will be disqualified from participation on the trip and will be dismissed or evacuated from the trip without a refund.

Guide Working Parameters

Guides are required to take 8 hours off each 24-hour period to sleep, recuperate, take personal/down time…etc. In addition, as part of the 8 hours off they must sleep/rest or be in their tents/rooms uninterrupted for a minimum of 5 hours each night. We ask guests to respect these requirements and to not interrupt guides’ off time and sleep time unless there is a true emergency.

Age Restrictions

Age restrictions on this trip are as follows:

  • 12 and older to join scheduled tours (mixed groups)
  • 5 and older to join private tours, with final approval and specific logistical requirements (such as porter or stock assist) determined on a case by case basis

Weather in the Grand Canyon

The weather in the Grand Canyon varies tremendously from the rim to the canyon floor, with as much as a 30 degree Fahrenheit difference. For this reason, the Canyon is truly a year-round hiking destination. To be fully prepared, please follow the recommended clothing list closely (this list comes as part of your trip packet when you register). Read below for average high and low temperatures at the South Rim and the Canyon bottom:

MonthSouth RimCanyon Bottom
hilowhilow
Dec-Feb41°18°60°38°
March51°25°71°48°
April60°32°82°56°
May70°39°92°63°
Jun-Aug82°

53°108°75°
September76°47°97°69°
October65°36°84°58°
November52°27°68°46°

Accommodations

Accommodations

Backcountry Sleeping

Tent Camping

Sleeping on backpacking trips is in premier 1-person, 2-person or 4-person backcountry tents. Solo travelers, and anyone else who requests it, are issued single tents. Top-of-the-line self-inflating sleeping pads and synthetic-fill sleeping bags (professionally laundered after every trip) are also provided.

Backcountry Cuisine

Fresh & Delicious

Meals from breakfast Day 1 through lunch the last day are fully included and prepared by your guide. We never use dehydrated backpacking meals, instead serving freshly prepared, delicious backcountry cuisine made with a variety of common and specialty ingredients that travel well in the wilderness.

Amazing Campsites

In the Action

Of course campsites vary tremendously by destination, trip and even by the individual day of a trip. However, you can expect to camp in beautiful areas that put you right in the action to make the most of your backpacking adventure. We carefully design our itineraries with campsites in mind.

Trip Reviews

Trip Reviews

  • Average Customer Ratings:

  • 5.0 (79 reviews)
Taylor M
5.0

I loved it

1 month ago

Wildland did an amazing job for us. From the initial inquiry to the last step of the trip my friends and myself were taken care of and treat professionally. Matt was our guide and he knocked it out of the park. He made it fun, kept us safe, and was an encyclopedia of history and information. I loved it and will be working with Wildland and hopefully Matt again.

Piet L
5.0

Superbly Executed

1 month ago

Danni was a great guide and made the Grandview Trek an awesome experience.

Laura G
5.0

Amazing trip!

1 month ago

Loved the GrandView trek. I took the 5 day trek and am really glad we had the extra day. It was so fun being in the Grand Canyon but not in the busy corridor. Danielle Tilley was our guide and she was amazing. Her cooking was incredible, we had an abundance of delicious food, she taught and encouraged us well, and our group got along great! Amazing trip!

See All Guest Reviews!

Go to our reviews page

Related Trips

You might also like...

Receive a PDF info packet via email which includes:

"*" indicates required fields

Receive Emails about Wildland Trekking Promotions, Updates, and Discounts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

*